Bedtime Poem

It’s Bedtime, Bubba

Footie pajamas and sneezing words
I wove you, Mama.
The specks of dirt and crumbs
On the table wait.
Wait longer.
The bathroom wall half painted
Like the sky, will still wait for the brush.
The load of laundry to start
And my classroom assignment
Along with the stack of reminders to pay (bills)
Are meaningless.
You are warm and soft and only 3.
You love me and ask me to stay
To cuddle and be
Until you fall asleep.
I’ll stay forever, you in my arms
The only sure thing.
Your embrace is my world.
Your soft breath my rhythm with the world.
Gentle kicks remind me of yesterday
And I smile before bed.

Leave a Reply

