A $100 Slice of Pie

image

Snohomish is where I am spending my final afternoon for my week in Washington. All week I’ve found quick lunches and have been able to explore a bit with new friends and coworkers in my class and in my agency. Tonight I was on my own and took the cab ride 10 miles for $24 to seek the Snohomish Pie Company. For all of us suburban and rural cimageitizens that haven’t had cabs as a regular part of life, it is always a shocker to watch the meter. This is only my second experience opting for cab.

Snohomish Pie Company is quaint and clean, and consists of a small baking area and counter and about a dozen tables scatered inside and on the patio.  It emits the sense of small, and lightness, which gives me permission to indulge. Well played, SPC.

I requested a cup of chicken gumbo, a small size to fill my belly with nutritious ingredients but leaving space for the pie! Upon recommendation, I was served up an apple-marion berry ala mode. It was gorgeous. A crumb topping, deep burgundy color filling, and just enough ice cream to round it out.

The texture was smooth, not choppy, and hints of mild apple and marion berry danced with the vanilla cream.The crumb topping was a little heavy on the sweet side, I reckon to assist the filling. However, a bit overkill due to its inability to readily mix with the entire bite. I’d never had the fabled marion berries (turns out it’s basically a blackberry), but thought that would be the best local choice, and I am glad I chose it. My father and grandfather always said the local food was one of the best parts of experiencing travel and I agree!

The atmosphere was fantastic. Soft music, pine table sets, and a very youthful and innocent pair of bakery servers happily working at cleaning windows and wiping down tables. They also seemed a bit concerned as I snapped photos and attempted to draft a few notes.

Don’t worryimage, kids, I’m no one but a regular customer, here to say your shop is lovely. My meal was a mere $15, and I headed out to the street to enjoy the visitor-geared shops and atmosphere.

After walking into two antique stores, an organic fiber clothing store, and a candle and gift store, I was already spent on my budget. I acquired a kid guitar, a bootleg vinyl LP, and a magazine from 1995 which was, interestingly enough, the last time I visited Seattle in a chain of events that is a bold marker on my life timeline. That’s for another story of grilled cheese sandwiches, burning busses, and the start of adventure. This one’s about pie. I sank $50 here, but my family will be excited and surprised at their gifts.

Off to the town visitor center, which, in my business, means information and exits on the subject and area at hand. For Snohomish it meant rows of rack cards and two elderly folks that seemed surprised anyone had stepped in to rest, check things out, and read rack cards. After they asked me about a dozen questions, I decided I’d wait outside for a cab. The weather in Washington was just awesome. Light layers, mostly sunny, 60-70 degrees the entire week. Sitting on the bench, waiting for my cab, watching cars go by was soothing. If you’ve never people watched or counted cars, I recommend it. It’s most definitely entertaining. It is a completely present moment activity in this world of phone staring, deadlines, and progress.

We had to take an alternate route back the 10 miles to Everett, a car wreck, stopped traffic on the interstate, and so forth. And although it sounded fraudulent, I could see it on my map app. Besides, the river road literally follows along the Snohomish River, which was also a nice retreat from the very densely populated area. Well, for me it seemed like an awful lot of cars and people and not a lot of space between residential areas. I handed the cabbie $50 (yes, an extra $20 pickup fee somehow) and made my way to my room to pack and unwind. I guess it was more like a $139 slice of pie. Totally worth it.

image
Corner of first and avenue d, Snohomish, WA
Leave a Reply

